Movimento was created in March 2012 in the wake of the spring awakening that would breathe new life into the streets of Montreal for a few months.

        Under the leadership of Léo Guiollot, then student percussionist, students at the Université de Montréal’s music faculty got together to add more colour to the protests with the deafening rhythm of Brazilian percussions.

        Through their musical presence, Movimento band members injected new energy into the protests, a positive energy reverberating for peaceThey provided activism with a one-of-kind festive tone thanks to rhythm and dance.

        In keeping with its foundational values, Movimento expanded its mission to produce dozens of events in collaboration with Amnesty International, RÉZO, the Relay for Life, the Nuit des sans-abri and multiple Climate Marches.

 

        The band can count on close to 30 active musicians. As a non-profit, the ensemble strives to adopt the best governance practices to take into account the concerns of band members and to ensure they are being represented.

 

        Musically, Movimento draws its inspiration from the best Brazilian baterias and trains its members to always give it their all when transporting audience with their art!


The band is made up of six sections:

repique

Tamborim

agogÔ

Surdo

Chocalho

Caixa

1. logo.png

Movimento a vu le jour en mars 2012, dans la foulée d'une effervescence printanière qui allait animer les rues de Montréal durant quelques mois.

 

        À l’initiative de Léo Guiollot, alors étudiant-percussionniste, des étudiant.e.s de la Faculté de musique de l’Université de Montréal se sont rassemblé.e.s pour colorer les manifestations du rythme retentissant des percussions brésiliennes.

        De par leur présence musicale, les membres de Movimento ont insufflé une énergie nouvelle aux manifestations, une énergie positive et pacifique. Grâce au rythme et à la danse, le groupe a donné au 

militantisme un ton festif unique en son genre.

        Tout en restant très proche des valeurs qui l’ont fondé, Movimento a élargi sa mission pour se produire dans des dizaines d'événements, en collaboration notamment avec Amnistie Internationale, RÉZO, le Relais pour la vie, la Nuit des sans-abri et plusieurs Marches pour le climat.

        Le groupe peut compter sur la disponibilité de près d’une trentaine de musicien.ne.s. En tant qu'organisme à but non-lucratif (OBNL), l'ensemble est très axé sur la représentativité et l'écoute de ses membres, tentant toujours d'adopter les meilleurs modes de gouvernance.

    Musicalement, Movimento s'inspire des meilleures baterias brésiliennes 

et forme ses membres au plus haut niveau possible afin que leur art transporte littéralement le public.

 

Le groupe est composé de six sections:

repique

Tamborim

agogÔ

Surdo

Chocalho

Caixa

1. logo.png